Bubbles and tennis

IMG_20140629_064850

 

The other week I went to the most British of British sporting events you guessed it Wimbledon! My friend Claire and her sister have been going for the last few years and its something I’ve always wanted to do. Unlike most sporting events you can buy a ticket for just £20 that will give you access to the grounds and a prime position on Murray mound/ Henman Hill (Nadal nest), your also allowed to bring a bottle of wine per person and a picnic which makes for a great day out.

We got up at half 4 to get a cab down to the grounds at 5am and once there we joined the infamous queue. I’ve never been to an event that gives you a whole booklet dedicated to queuing and a ticket so you don’t lose your place in the queue. Doing so usually takes a few hours so we ate brioche, drank coffee and read newspapers whilst we waited. Its all very civilised and everyone we talked to was lovely.

Once in the grounds we found a spot on Murray mound and got out our picnic and bubbles- its all about the bubbles! Unfortunately we weren’t blessed weather wise as the heavens opened and never really closed but I was with awesome company so it wasn’t too bad. Also theres a certain comraderie that comes with being consistently rained on!

Claire explained one of the games to me and once you understand it- its pretty awesome. As Wimbledon’s around my birthday I’ve always found myself watching it- usually not really understanding it- but watching it nonetheless.

I would definitely recommend Wimbledon as great summers day out and next year I hope to be sat on Murray Mound drinking bubbles and watching tennis.

The next sporting event I hope to get tickets for is the rugby as it’s really fun to watch.

Have you ever been to a sporting event? Let me know in the comments!

Also every time I think of watching sports I think of this track We like sportz (any excuse to link to the Lonely Island)

Happy Wednesday 

Shaziya Niamh

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

