Everybody loves a cookie.

Oat & Chocolate chip cookies.

Oat & Chocolate chip cookies.

Last week in my post Great British Bake Off, I mentioned the Oat & Chocolate chips cookies made for our failed attempt as audience members. The internet defines cookies as ‘a sweet biscuit‘ but they are so much more than that. Cookies can be comforting, healthy (occasionally) and the food version of a hug. An ex housemate of mine’s go to thing was to bake cookies and those freshly baked cookies brought the house together. 

Personally, cookies have always been my baking achillies heel, up until very recently I’d failed more at cookie baking than anything else I’d ever attempted to bake! However, like a moth to a flame I kept on trying until I eventually found a recipe could potentially work (once tweaked of course!).

The inspiration (reason why I’m less awful at cookie making) is this  recipe.

Now when it comes to baking, spelt is my go to flour and has a starring (sometimes a bit part) role in all my baking. You may be asking what is spelt flour? Well spelt is an ancient grain that doesn’t have as much gluten as say hardcore white flour. White flour generally makes me feel a bit sick hence my non use if it in my cooking!

You can also get spelt pasta and bread and they are meant to be less bloating (don’t quote me on that) the taste is slightly nutty but they are often used as healthy alternatives. 

As my cookies usually resemble one long blob of doom, this time round I did a little research on cookie baking. The trick (supposedly) is to make sure you use enough fat. For my version I used both salted butter and coconut oil, using melted butter will also create chewier cookies. 

For this recipe you will need: 

  • 100g milk chocolate chips (more for picking on whilst cooking)
  • 150g wholemeal spelt flour (don’t add it all at once look at consistency)
  • 100g salted butter 
  • 25g coconut oil (roughly a heaped tablespoonful) 
  • 100g brown sugar
  • 100g oats 
  • a pinch of sea salt
  • half a tablespoon of baking powder 
  • a large drop of vanilla extract. 

Method: 

Melt butter and coconut oil in a pan, add brown sugar. Once its all melted add the egg and mix, stir in flour, vanilla extract etc, add oats and mix. Leave to cool for a few minutes (using the same pan means less washing up). Make sure you’ve preheated the oven 190 celcius (fan oven 180 ). Stir in chocolate chips. Put teaspoon sized blobs on a baking tray (using baking/ greaseproof paper). Put in the oven until they look crispy and delicious (10-15mins). Make a cup of tea etc whilst you wait. Once cooled tuck in! 

Feel free to share any of your cookie recipes in the comments section. 

 

Shaziya Niamh 

 

 

Leave a Reply

